LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

Our Fave Hooligans Came For A Visit!

19 Comments

So, after not posting anything for about a week and a half… I’m baaaaaackkkk, KIDS!!! !! Where have I been you ask? Well, our friends from back home came to visit us and it was such an amazing visit! They stayed with us in our one bedroom, one bathroom apartment and never once did I want to lock myself in my room to escape from them! They are FUN!

What did we get up to you? LOTS! I was so excited for the whole entire day that they were coming that I drove John completely nuts with all my texts, etc. I drove him even more nuts at the airport and he kept trying to get me to sit down, but I couldn’t! What if we missed them coming down the escalator? What if I wasn’t able to greet them with the sign that I made for them!?

image_1

Now there are only a handful of people who I would ever do this to…. and Stacy & Jeff are most definitely two of them. I knew that Stacy and I would be fast friends when she brought me the board game “Operation” after I had woken up from surgery. True love right there, lovely, true love.

image

 

John had to work on the Friday they they were here, so we decided to go to Navy Pier! Naturally we had to ride the Ferris Wheel so we lined up with the kidlets and went on a fun ride.. Stacy is a brave, brave girl!

image_2

Aren’t they the cutest!?

image_3

 

After the Ferris Wheel, we explored Navy Pier and since it was such a hot, sunny and beautiful morning we decided that a morning beer was due. It hit us all much harder than you would expect and before you know it Stacy was telling strangers that we were Polygamists. Naturally, I was wife 2 and belonged on Jeff’s right side. We are controversial Polygamists.

image_5

Polygamists enjoying a morning beer


Now, I’m not going to tell you abso-freaking-lutely everything that we did, but I’ll give you a glimpse of SOME of the highlights:
– Deep Dish Pizza
– Rooftop Wine Drinking
– A Cubs Game

image_7

 

– Lots and lots of strolls
–  Gelato and coffee
– The Bean

photo-27

– Lots and lots of photobombing
– The Purple Pig
– Second City (John and Jeff both made it up onto Stage…. much to Jeff’s dismay which was the funniest part! They were AWESOME!!! Great sports!)

image_5

Jeff on Stage

image_6

 

– While Stacy got her shopping on at Macy’s, Jeff and I went up to the top of the John Hancock building and we TILTED

 

image_1

It was way cooler than I thought it was going to be!

– Lots and lots of shopping
– Highfiving strangers
– Tons and tons of laughs
– Even more tons and tons of funness!!!!

image_12

image_6 image_7 image_10 image_9 image_8 image_8

 

We had so much fun with these hooligans and I cannot wait to see them again! Thank you for making the trip to come and see us, S&J! We love you to itsy bits pieces and Chicago welcomes you back anytime!

OH! How can I make such a post without sharing the adorable photo that Stacy took of Mr. Ernie?!

image_3

 

It was so nice to have a little taste of home for a few days! They brought us REAL smarties, coffee crisp, maple syrup and maple butter. They said “eh”, “hey”, “sorry”, and “you’re welcome”. They pronounced Chicago as “Chi-kaw-go” rather than “Sh-kaw-gaaah” and they also like ketchup on their hot dogs. As much as I love “Sh-kaw-gaah” there is just something so warm, friendly and fuzzy about a Canadian hug!  Oh – it was also nice to know that they were equally as terrified about the “no gun” signs everywhere.

We love and miss you guys already!!

That was a fun visit, hey?!

Enjoy Life,
L

19 thoughts on “Our Fave Hooligans Came For A Visit!

  1. I had so much fun just reading what you did!!! So happy to be able to meet them. We loved them too!

  2. Glad you had such a great time!

  3. I noticed you were missing. 🙂 And yikes, just realized last night I didn’t get to respond to the Liebster yet – and might still not get to it. 😎
    Welcome back!

  4. Looks like a blast and I love the pictures.

  5. That sign you made is hilarious! It’s great having friends with whom you share that sort of bond.

  6. Lol, Canadians. There’s nothing like a visit from good friends, that’s for sure. Can we come crash in your one bedroom one bath apt.? I really like deep dish pizza.

  7. This is great – love the sign and the pic of Ernie 🙂

  8. Such an amazingly fun trip! So nice to see your new home and spend time together!! The trip was to shart…. Ooops Short! Love and kisses!!!

  9. Pingback: A “Lovely” Surprise | LisaListed

  10. Aaaawww! Mr Ernie is soooo cute! You guys have some great friends! Good friendships are indeed a gem. 🙂

I Like The Way You Comment, No Diggity