LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

A Letter to My Closet Followers

10 Comments

Dear My Closet Followers,

Thank you. I appreciate your kind words, your support and your encouragement. I appreciate and understand your reasons for keeping your messages to me private, and I’d like to thank you for sending them. Whether the reason is that you do not want your message read by others, you are scared of what you fear others may think of you when they read your words to me, whether it’s because we aren’t friends anymore but you have the courage to reach out to me… thank you.

I know that there are people out there who don’t necessarily like what I have to say, and yes, of course that bothers me. Am I on a journey of intentionally writing things to upset people? No, absolutely not. There are so many other people out there writing wishy-washy blogs because they are scared of ‘saying the wrong thing’. If that is more your cup of tea, by all means drink up. However, I am more of a coffee drinker myself. If you don’t like my truth, that is a-okay. People who truly know me know that my intentions are nothing but pure.

My closet followers send me messages that make me feel like what I have to say is valid. They make me feel like something that I’ve said hits home to them. Others have sent me messages telling me that they are going through the exact same thing and that it’s nice to know that there’s somebody else out there who shares their feelings. Somebody else who has experienced the judgements that they are currently going through. And that’s what this journey of mine is all about. To make others feel like it’s okay to live outside of the box. To be different. To speak your mind. To do what you’ve always wanted to do and stop allowing others to put limitations on your dreams.

It’s ironic, the people who I am receiving criticism from isn’t from whom I thought I would receive it from. I’ve been told that I have poor spelling, that I have improper grammar. That my posts are a bit too “intense”, that I could be “insulting” people. I am getting suggestions on how to make one of my posts less “harsh”. How I should make a comment in one of my posts that “I have the opportunity and the plan to get a job.” (clearly, they did not get the message that I cannot get a job here). They say that I should make this comment because I am somehow delivering the message to people who don’t give up their jobs that they don’t value their family. That, my lovelies, is not my message at all and I hardly believe that this is the message that I am spreading.

I am just as much a fan of the working Mom who works 80 hours a week, takes their kids to soccer practice, puts dinner on the table as the next guy. I am a huge supporter of Sheryl Sandberg and would love to have dinner with her one day. I am just as much of a fan of a woman who chooses her career above all else. By no means am I suggesting that if you are a working Mom that you don’t put your children or husband first. In fact, I applaud you as I don’t know how you do it. I am sharing our story, our circumstances, the choices that we have made as a couple. And I am simply asking to hold all judgement for the choices that John and I have made.

I received this from a successful business person in response to my latest post:

“it warms my heart to see how things have turned out for you guys. I admire your strength and positive outlook on things. Your ability to charge into any situation and not just make the best of it, but turn it into something spectacular sets you apart from most. Anyways, I just wanted to say you give me hope and strength in knowing that being true to yourself and the things that are important to you are worth it through and through! Thanks for being someone that I look up to, even though you may not have known it.”

So, to my closet followers and all those who have also publicly sent me incredibly sweet, supportive and loving messages, I once again thank you. Because you are what makes me feel like maybe my words are worthy of being told.

Enjoy Life,
L

10 thoughts on “A Letter to My Closet Followers

  1. I am not much of a commenter, but I will now 🙂 I’ve enjoyed reading your blog! I’m really shocked (but not really) that people would judge you for choosing this path and not having a job. What is it to them? You are doing what you need to do. Hell, I’m jealous 🙂

    I think people who just nitpick and are mean are lonely, angry people. I know you know this already, but don’t let them bug you. You are able to experience this and so you should. Like you said, maybe one day you’ll have a career, maybe you won’t… so what? It’s your life, not theirs.

    I just kind of made me angry when I read that people are judging you about this. Mind your own business, people. If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

    Anyway, end to a long comment… I’m enjoying your blog and maybe one day I’ll get out that way and be able to see your smiling face 🙂 I certainly haven’t seen it enough!!! Haters gonna hate. I could say much more, but I’m sure your parents read the comments and I wouldn’t want to offend them (haha).

    Smooches! Shannon

  2. I think people who just nitpick and are mean are lonely, angry people. I know you know this already, but don’t let them bug you. You are able to experience this and so you should. Like you said, maybe one day you’ll have a career, maybe you won’t… so what? It’s your life, not theirs.

    Haha….Agreed..!!!

  3. I think people who just nitpick and are mean are lonely, angry people. I know you know this already, but don’t let them bug you. You are able to experience this and so you should. Like you said, maybe one day you’ll have a career, maybe you won’t… so what? It’s your life, not theirs.

    Hahaha…Completely agreed…!!!

  4. I was trying to come up with some Gangsta Lisa rap lyrics there… I failed with “haters gonna hate”

  5. Y’know, I’ve always operated under the assumption that if you’re writing something (blog, article, cookbook, bathroom graffiti) and nobody is offended, then you’re doing something wrong. The whole fun of it is eliciting emotions from people. Back when I was prolific, the “you suck” letters were the ones I liked the most. So you just keep doing what you’re doing.

I Like The Way You Comment, No Diggity

