LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

The Liebster Award… WITH A TWIST!

19 Comments

My blog has received an award!

Which award you ask? Why, the mighty Liebster Award!

So thank you, A La Modern Mom, thank you for the recognition!

liebster

What is the Liebster Award? It is an award given to bloggers from fellow bloggers.

What does this award mean? Well, “Liebster” is of German origin and has several definitions: dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, sweetheart … I’ll take them all, thank you very much!

This award is a way to show appreciation and love from the blogging community and it feels like a warm pat on the back. Perhaps even accompanied by a high five!

There are some “rules” that I must follow, so as much as I love the bend the rules, this time I shall obey. These are the rules:

1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves (I’m regretting posting this post where I shared most than 11 things just a few days ago)
2. Answer the questions that your nominator asked you
3. Nominate 5-11 bloggers and link them in your post
4. Go to their page and tell them
5. Thank and link back the person’s page who nominated you

OH WHO AM I KIDDING?! I am going to bend the rules once again… I’m going to throw a twist into it! I ask that you (yes, you) answer each of the questions that I ask of the nominees in a comment below! 

Easy enough, right? Okay, let’s get started!


11 Random Facts About Yours Truly

1. I am terrified of snakes

2. I have learnt that friendship is absolutely quality over quantity

3. I like sour cream a lot

4. I love weddings… not for the party part but for the love part

5. I struggled with math throughout school but my high school teacher told me that I’d be successful regardless because of my strong work ethic

6. I can and do eat entire watermelons to myself in one sitting

photo-17

7. I have lady crushes on Taylor Swift, Beyonce, Emma Stone and Melissa McCarthy

8. As a kid and teen, I was always an avid Backstreet Boy fan but Justin Timberlake has won me over in my adult years

9. I love flowers and plants but have a hard time not killing my plants… my new friend is helping me with this

photo-18

10. I love food and eat healthy about 80% of the time. Life is too short to avoid cupcakes, my friend.

11. Cuddling with John and Ernie makes me happiest.

photo-19

And now answers to the burning questions A La Modern Mom asked…

1. Why did you start your blog?

I started this blog as a way to share the journey of moving from Canada to the US with my husband and my puppy. I wanted to share our ups, our lows and everything in between. Turns out that I have more to say than just talk about our experience of moving!

2. What is your favorite quote and by whom?

This is a good one… I love quotes! I’m unsure if I can actually chose a favourite and my favourite often changes depending on what I am experiencing or feeling. That being said, here is one that I love:

maya

“At the end of the day people won’t remember what you did or said, they will remember how you made them feel” Maya Angelou

3. What is your favorite post that you’ve written (provide a link!)?

My favourite post that I have ever written is probably “Why I Gave Up The 8:00 To 5:00 Corporate Career.” This is probably my favourite because when I wrote it, my biggest audience was my family and friends. I felt like this post was the best way for me to explain to them our situation, our circumstances and how some reactions made me feel.

4. Who is your favorite fictional character?

Winnie The Pooh. He is naive and slow witted, but also friendly, thoughtful and steadfast. He often comes up with clever ideas, driven by common sense. He has a kindhearted soul.

winnie

5. What single quality do you most appreciate in people?

Honesty. Always have, always will. Be upfront and honest from the get go. Honesty also drives loyalty and genuineness.

6. Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give your 13-year-old self?

Ooh, good question… There are many things. I would tell my 13 year old self to nourish friendships with those who you know deep down are your true friends. And that in the grand scheme of life, your teen years do not matter nearly as much as you think they do.

7. Where was your best vacation?

Dominican Republic with my Husband for our honeymoon. It was a relaxing 2 weeks in the dead of a Canadian winter on a beautiful beach with too much food and booze. Pure bliss.

SAM_0601

8. What is your hidden talent?

I think that I make a mean banana muffin and banana bread… Thanks Mom!

9. What is your favorite meal?

A dinner with close friends and family with lots of laughter, love and happiness in the room.

10. If you could have any super power, what would it be?

I would love to fly!

11. What movie did you love to watch as a child?

Land Before Time… over and over and over again!

 

Pay It Forward

I would like to nominate the following to receive this award as I enjoy each and every one of you:

Little Miss Jennaay
Thoughtful Minds United
Full Leather Interior
Vera Kasi
Nonsense & Shenanigans
Ann St Vincent
The Bitching Mound
Keely’s Graffiti
Kayleigh’s World

My Questions For The Nominees To Answer:

1. What are your favourite and least favourite blog posts to read?
2. If you could have any profession in the world, what would it be (without worrying about money, time, financial)?
3. What is your favourite physical feature of yourself?
4. Who do you need to say “I love you” to more?
5. Who do you need to say “I’m sorry” to?
6. Where in the world is Carmen San Diego?
7. Where is your favourite place in the whole world?
8. If you could redo anything in your life differently, what would you redo?
9. What is the nicest thing that somebody has ever done for/to you?
10. What would an ideal day be for you?
11. What is your favourite post that I have ever written?
12. What is your favourite post that you have ever written?

Lovelies, don’t think that I forgot about you and the TWIST of this award… in the comment box below I encourage you to answer the above questions! There may even be a prize involved for those who actually participate… Oh, I am dead serious, Buster! I love learning about my lovelies 🙂

Enjoy Life, Lovelies!
L

19 thoughts on “The Liebster Award… WITH A TWIST!

  1. Congrats! And thanks for finding me new friends in your nominations!

  2. 1. What are your favourite and least favourite blog posts to read?
    Honestly, I usually don’t know until I’ve started – or finished – reading a post. People write some very insightful posts on various topics, and they are constantly opening my mind in new and different ways.

    2. If you could have any profession in the world, what would it be (without worrying about money, time, financial)?
    I would pursue creative interests in photography, writing, and sculpture. I’d also like to learn how to weld. Shaping and forming metal objects fascinates me.

    3. What is your favourite physical feature of yourself?
    These days, it’s my chest and abdominal area. I’ve worked hard on them, and I feel young and healthy when they are fit and toned.

    4. Who do you need to say “I love you” to more?
    I don’t know, really. Maybe my Mom.

    5. Who do you need to say “I’m sorry” to?
    Right now, nobody. But then again, I can be a selfish asshole, so I may not realize that there are people to whom I should apologize. I’ll realize it eventually though, especially if they remind me of something I did or should have done.
    6. Where in the world is Carmen San Diego?
    Last I heard, she bought some land in Colorado and started growing medical marijuana. Now she has a big ranch and a tricked-out Escalade and drinks pink champagne like its diet lemonade.

    7. Where is your favourite place in the whole world?
    I must answer this question in two parts. Geographically, I am most impressed with Colorado; those mountains and wide-open spaces make me feel freer (freer still doesn’t sound like a real word to me) than I would have ever imagined. And it’s not humid, which is awesome. But home is where the heart is, and I love my house. It’s not a mansion, but it’s comfortable and tastefully decorated and I can relax there.

    8. If you could redo anything in your life differently, what would you redo?
    I would have cultivated my creative side more when I was younger. But it’s not too late, so I’m doing it now in my free time.

    9. What is the nicest thing that somebody has ever done for/to you?
    That’s a tough one. I remember people doing a lot of nice things for me, but I was never as thankful as when my wife rubbed my feet for me. I had a splitting headache when I was sick one time and she knew that rubbing a person’s feet helps to reduce headache pain. It’s true. Try it some time!

    10. What would an ideal day be for you?
    I would wake up and realize that overnight, I had acquired super powers. Then I would begin my day with the knowledge that I would no longer have to deal with traffic because flying would be one of my powers. I’ve always considered gravity to be one of my greatest obstacles, so flying would be one of my greatest victories. Later, I would have a nice lunch, preferably at an all-you-can-eat sushi buffet, to celebrate. After sunset, I would fly through the clouds with my wife like Superman did with Lois Lane in the first movie. I imagine flying as being a better-than-average aphrodisiac, especially if you stop somewhere for a cocktail. I know this sounds over-the-top, but nothing else would qualify as “ideal.”

    11. What is your favourite post that I have ever written?
    I was going to say “My Husband IS NOT the Man of My Dreams” but I read “Why I Gave Up My 8:00 to 5:00 Career” earlier and it is my new favorite. There are more of your posts I still need to read though!

    12. What is your favourite post that you have ever written?
    “I’m a selfish asshole, but I have some nice qualities.”

    • I loved ALLLLLL of your answers!!! But the one I loved the most was Carmen San Diego… hahaha, well played, well played!!!

      I’m also a lover of the mountains…. I lived an hour away from the mountains in Canada, but I’m also loving this lake life in Chicago!! The world has so much beauty in it 🙂

      And, did you tell your Mom that you love her yet……??? I’ll be checking up on you for that one

      • Thanks! I figured you’d appreciated something more in that answer than just naming some city or country. No, haven’t talked to my Mom, but I did spend a lot of time with her last week. We do a long beach weekend every year with my kids – great family bonding time!

  3. Well deserved! Congrats 🙂

  4. Wow I thought I’d said “thank you” here but alas…it seems I did not. So…THANK YOU!! I’m a little behind on accepting / responding but it’s in progress 🙂

  5. Pingback: I’m So Excited, Part 3, Section B (2nd Liebster Award) | Nonsense & Shenanigans

  6. Love it! Also, I am in LOVE with Melissa McCarthy! She is hilarious and awesome. Also, I swear my mom and her are long-lost twins.

  7. Pingback: Liebster Award – Numero 2! Encore, Encore! | LisaListed

  8. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award – Say Whaaaaaaattttt!? THANK YOU | LisaListed

  9. Hey Lisa!!! Thanks for the nomination! I have spent all day panicking about not getting it done within the 24 hours that I learned of the nomination, then realised it really didn’t matter….crazy lady…anyway, true to form I digressed!!! Here it is http://kayles23blog.wordpress.com/awards/liebster-award/
    🙂

I Like The Way You Comment, No Diggity

