LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

Why You Gotta Be So Coooold??

13 Comments

Damn Canada – you are one cold son of a gun! Although, you are gorgeous and wonderful, ya da ya da ya da… you are chillllly!!!!

People of Chicago are STILL talking about how shitty and cold their winter was last year, but damn… I don’t think they really know what a true Canadian winter is all about. (Sorry, I mean aboot…)

When John and I left Canada the morning of April 22nd, 2014 to drive to the US we had to shovel our driveway the morning we left… and it snowed during our drive for the first day. When we arrived into the US a mere three days later, we were so hot we were desperately digging through all of our stuff looking for our shorts. We went from winter gear to summer gear in 72 hours!! John and I were in heaven and ever since our very first day here, them Chicagoans have continued to bitch and complain about how cold their winter was. It’s September, I don’t care about last winter anymore…. enjoy the summer you have right now, thank you very much.

On September 3rd, 2014 (two days ago), it was 85 degrees in Chicago and felt like probably 120 degrees with the humidity. A very summery day still. In fact, I took this picture to prove how beautiful it truly was:

photo-29

Yet, on the very same day in Canada… this is what it looked like:

 

photo 1

Exaggeration? Absolutely not.

Was I 10000000% (honey, don’t even bother correcting me on this percentage) surprised when I saw this photo? Not really. I believe my exact thoughts were “typical.”

Was the rest of Canada surprised when they realized that it was snowing on September 3rd? I would bet not.

But that doesn’t necessarily mean that anybody in Canada LIKES it! We just know it’s a part of life and get over it. We kiss summer time goodbye and get mildly depressed when we realize it won’t be summer time again for probably another 8 or 9 months.

I guess they don’t call it The Great White North for nothing right?

So, as Chicagoans are complaining to me about how terrible last winter was and how we hardly got a summer… I do my best to firmly bite my tongue because this is the temperature back home in Calgary (Fahrenheit and Celsius are both included because I’m thoughtful like that):

 

photo 2 photo 3

 

And in comparison… This is what Chicago’s temperature was at the exact same time as the temps above:

photo 4 photo 5

 

Those pictures were taken September 4th, 2014 at 7:00am. At 7:00am this morning, it already felt like 31 degrees… compared to Calgary’s 3 degrees. So, Chicagoans, I beg of you to please stop complaining to the pale and pasty Canadians about the temperature here!!!

Chicago actually has four seasons and we are so excited to actually experience a real fall and spring! What amI talking about you ask? You think that Canada has four seasons too? Au contraire… In Alberta the joke is that the four seasons are:

1) Almost Winter
2) Winter
3) Still Winter
4) Road Construction

Now, I apologize to anybody if I came across as a little “frosty” but it’s solely because this is the first time in my life that it is September and I could give two craps about where my toque is! And frankly, I am super excited about that! Now excuse me, lovely, as I go decide on which summer dress to wear today… Life’s tough, I know 🙂

Enjoy Life,
L

 

13 thoughts on “Why You Gotta Be So Coooold??

  1. Yeah, I used to complain about the weather all the time in South Dakota too. Sorry about that Canadian.

  2. That’s Canada! hehehe 🙂

  3. Today the snow snapped power lines in Calgary… my birth place. Today John and I wore shorts and ate supper on our balcony. Love love Vancouver Island. 🙂

  4. From an old Chicagoan now transplanted to the SW deserts, WELL WRITTEN!

    However, now i complain when i return to Chicago simply because it isnt at LEAST 28c year-round!

    Thank you for the smile.

    • Haha thank you!! I’m very jealous of your transplant to the land of warmth! And I LOVE that you used celcius 😀

      Enjoy your sun and warmth year round and I’ll try to keep these guys in check 😉

  5. Lol I know exactly what u mean. I lived in Minnesota when I was younger and people thought I was crazy for walking around in shorts. I was so used to being hot that I enjoyed feeling the nice snow fall on my bare skin. Then when we came back down here to Texas people bundle up like it’s bellow 0… it makes me laugh!!! 😉

I Like The Way You Comment, No Diggity

