LisaListed

The best things in life aren't things at all

My Husband IS NOT The Man Of My Dreams

56 Comments

When I was a little girl, and even into my late teenage years, I used to dream up the perfect man who I was going to marry. Can you be a hopeless romantic when you’re 5 years old? I surely was and I still am.  I used to wonder what his name would be. I used to wonder how tall he would be. I used to wonder a lot about him and about us. I used to watch all sorts of lovey dovey movies and just imagine what a love like that would feel like. *dramatic sigh*

These are some of the qualities that my dream man would have:

– Loyal
– Honest
– Intelligent
– Loving
– Funny
– Caring

I really didn’t think that I was asking for too much. Once I entered the dating world, I understood better why I was told that this man only exists in fairytales. Finding a honest and funny man who loved me for me deemed to be more difficult than what my child and teenage self could have ever imagined. I dated people who brought out the worst in me, who made me question my own self, who wanted different things out of life than what I wanted. I was told at one point that the love that I wanted didn’t exist and that there was nobody else in the world who would love me as much as the person I was currently dating would. I was told that the man I was longed for only existed in fairytales and that I needed to be more realistic. I knew in my gut and heart that the kind of love that I was looking for surely wasn’t too much to be asking for.

The first time I met John, I knew that there was something different about him. I instantly felt something with him that I had never felt before. We laughed and talked for three hours straight. My face had never hurt so much as it did that night – my cheeks were on fire from smiling so much and my stomach hurt from laughing so much. I couldn’t remember ever feeling this way! The first time we met, we talked about absolutely everything you could possible talk about. We talked about everything you’re not supposed to talk about. Everything from religion to finances to dishwasher etiquette and absolutely everything in between. It was amazing that we had so many similarities and common interests. If John hadn’t had hockey that night, I’m not sure we ever would have left.

As time went on, I knew that there was something special between us. We both knew. We couldn’t spend enough time with each other and saying ‘bye’ to each other at the night of the night often times took hours. I had met somebody who brought out the best in me, who made me want to be a better person, and somebody who just understand me on a level that nobody else ever has before. Early on into our relationship, John sent me a message that said “LJFL”. I asked him what that meant and he said “Lisa and John For Life”. Still to this day, we sign many cards with “LJFL”.

When John tells me that he loves me, I can feel it. He doesn’t just say the words out of habit or because he feels like he should, every single time he has told me that he loves me, I can feel that he means it. And I him. I can’t exactly put my finger on any one quality of John’s that makes him so perfect in my eyes, but there are somethings in this world that words don’t have to define.

Each time I have been sick or unwell, John always goes out of his way to make me feel better. He always does something just to make me feel special. By the way that he takes care of me, I can see what an incredible father he will someday be and nothing warms my heart more than that thought. John is the man who will surprise me at the airport with a bouquet of flowers. He’s the kind of man who will give me a back massage solely because he knows how much I love them. John is the kind of man who will go out of his way to ensure that I know that I will always come first to him. He is the kind of man who used to commute 30 minutes each way just to surprise me at lunch time to see me for a few minutes during the day. John is the man who would do anything to be my everything. He’s the one who always gives me the last bite of dessert when we share. He’s the one who can make me smile and laugh when I don’t want to. John is the kind of person that I want our future children to look up to.

I did not marry the man of my dreams. I did not marry the man who I envisioned spending my life with. Who I envisioned growing old with. Who I envisioned having children with. No, I did not marry the perfect man from my dreams after all…

I married John and he is a man who I could have never dreamed up in my wildest dreams. He surpasses any version of a man who I had ever hoped to marry.

John is my real life fairytale.

I love you, I didn’t know what true love was until I met you.
LJFL xo

SB_L&J_12-09-02_0248

Enjoy Life,
L

56 thoughts on “My Husband IS NOT The Man Of My Dreams

  1. This is so cute. You’re a lucky woman

  2. A beautiful post and may I say you’re a lucky girl!

  3. That’s so awesome! It becomes harder and harder to believe that love (or true love) really exists in this divorce filled world…it’s nice to know that it does 🙂

  4. John sounds like a good guy. I always forget that surprises are romantic. I must keep that in mind!

  5. I’d like to thank you for leaving a link to your site, I couldn’t help but feel like I was reading the most amazing sequel to my http://sugarfreetherapy.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/why-are-you-still-single/ blog! (Btw, totally not a plug. 😉 Haha!)

    I don’t mean to sound like a little girl, but reading this has definitely restored my faith in fairytale endings (I knew they were worth holding out for, I just knew it!) It was an even better read! Thank you for this! And if you haven’t noticed it yet, I absolutely loved it! Congratulations on getting your happy ending! ❤️

    • Why thank you so much!!! I look forward to reading more of your blog as well 🙂

      Happy that our story is able to restore faith in fairytale endings – continue to hold out for it, it’s the greatest part of my life 🙂

  6. Great post! It’s So important to know that great love is out there and worth waiting for!!

  7. So there is something called true love…… Glad you found it, very few people do.

    You have an interesting blog going on, I might as well stick for the ride, become your new stalker.

  8. Nice to see all of the great positive feedback You go girl!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  9. Lisa, thank you for stopping by my blog and your comment. But I landed here after seeing your comment on http://www.drewiaconis.com/blogging-tips-and-tricks/ (affliliatedmindset). Found it to be a bit of a coincidence to bump into you twice online in less than an hour.

    So here I am and it is beautiful to read your post on not having the man of your dreams as your husband! I am so glad you both are together for life. I am happily married too, and my husband is the best friend I could ever ask for. So I know how amazing it must be to find yourself in this space.

    Happy for you and thrilled to be here. And I guess, we are meant to connect!

  10. What a lovely post! My partner is beyond what I ever believed a man could be, he surprises me at least every week by doing something so truly selfless that benefits me. I just wish every woman could find men like ours!!

  11. This is such a beautiful post. That sounds like true love, and you’ve expressed it beautifully. I was intrigued with the title of this post, and it was totally worth the read. 🙂 I’m now gonna go poke around your blog some more x)

  12. This is such a beautiful post and your truly one lucky lady. I hope to find an amazing guy too 🙂

    • Thank you!! I appreciate you reading and leaving a comment 🙂

      Don’t settle, your Prince Charming is waiting to swoop you off your feet – I wish you the best in finding him 🙂

  13. I am so happy for you and glad that you finally found true love! I am still waiting to find what you have found and it seems very hard to find.

  14. I really enjoyed this post. I am so happy for you, you guys sound perfect together! I want something like that so bad. I wish you guys lots of luck and happiness in your marriage!

    • Thank you so much for reading and commenting!!

      I wish you the best of luck in finding a love so great that you want to shout from a rooftop to tell the whole world about!! Don’t settle 😉

  15. I’m speechless. Girl, i’m feeling all kinds feels! Beautiful article! Congratals to tbe both of you 🙂

  16. Wow this really blessed my heart, thanks Lisa! May you be blessed with many more years together! A Divine Hand definitely had a hand in you 2 meeting! Take care & Enjoy Life! x

  17. So, you got some one ever better than you dreamed! John is setting a great example, and so are you for appreciating him so well. I bet you and LOVE are his natural motivators. Thank you for sharing this clear evidence that the world is not as bleak and cynical as some try to portray. The world is a wonderful place when we love in the way that you and John do. You show the world that it can be done. I wish you many many years of joy. 🙂

    • Oh wow, thank you so much JoAnne! He’s amazing and makes me love life in a way that I didn’t know was possible. Thank you for reading and commenting, you’ve made me feel great 🙂

  18. Nice. It’s fun to see and hear about such obviously happy young couples. My wife is either very, very charitable, or she panicked and settled for far less than she should have. Not that I’m complaining.

  19. This might be my first / one-time visit … even though I think your blog is so good. Great stuff: the quote about the best things in life; the part of your story you have told on your blog about meeting and marrying this good-hearted man who cherishes you; your positive attitude … Maybe I will come back to visit. But, your good words tap something in my heart and soul, and I miss my early years of being married to this good woman who is still my wife, and will be to the end. We love each other, immensely. One of our two children is a special-needs child … and his needs / care has all but ravaged both of us. Maybe this visit to your blog has reminded me of the joy we actually have, the good marriage we actually have, the great two kids that we actually have. Okay, peace. I’m out. T

    • Wow… I’m speechless, thank you for your incredible message!
      I really appreciate your comment more than I could ever tell you and I wish you, your wife and your children happiness, health and love. Thank you again for stopping by, you’ve touched me 🙂

  20. Wow, what a story. Utterly inspiring. Having been through the wringer with men I kept thinking you were going to say that the man u called ‘John’ was a figment of your imagination! What a delightful surprise it was to find out he was real! Restores my faith in ‘true love’; & makes it easier for me to admit that I’m a romantic at heart too.
    Thank you Lisa for sharing your story. ..I will hold out for that special man now. Do hope he surfaces soon!

    Thanks also for visiting my blog & your “like”:-)
    Xx M

    • Thank you Mika!!!
      That would have been a good twist if he was fake, but I’m so happy that he’s the real deal!!! I wish you the best in finding your Mr Wonderful and I hope he surfaces soon too 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! See you around soon in this crazy world!

  21. Wow, what a story. Utterly inspiring. Having been through the wringer with men I kept thinking you were going to say that the man u called ‘John’ was a figment of your imagination! What a delightful surprise it was to find out he was real! Restores my faith in ‘true love’; & makes it easier for me to admit that I’m a romantic at heart too.
    Thank you Lisa for sharing your story. ..I will hold out for that special man now. Do hope he surfaces soon!

    Thanks also for visiting my blog & your “like”:-)
    Xx M

  22. I am happy for you. With what is happening in the world today, with how minds work, hoe people behave, real life stories like this should be told & retold. I know a dozen men who beat their wives. I know a dozen men who sit at home not intending to go for work, bullying their family. I know many stories that make me deny marriage. And once in a while stories like this is a solace to our hearts. 🙂 May this happiness continue for years together. 🙂

    • My goodness…. what a wonderful comment to read! Thank you for much, Ranju! It sickens me to hear that you know men such as those that you have described and it makes me feel so wonderful that my story may change views on marriage. Thank you so very much and I wish you the absolute best in finding your Mr Wonderful!

  23. Pingback: Lisa Listed Liebster’d Me! | ann st vincent

  24. Hi,

    What a touching tribute to your husband. He is also the lucky one, to have such a nice and caring wife such as you.

    Nancy

I Like The Way You Comment, No Diggity

